Standards > Notation: Specification, Scope and Elements

Standards > Notation: Space
Preservation > Assessment


The most widely used format in the U.S. for building specifications is Construction Specifications Institute's (CSI) MasterFormat™, which has been based on a 16-Division format, each of which includes numerous 5-digit sections.

UniFormat™ is a common elemental classification for the description, economic analysis, and management of a building over its life cycle. Elements — often referred to as systems or assemblies — are major components common to most buildings that usually perform a given function regardless of the design specification, construction method, or materials used.

Using the MasterFormat™, together with the Uniformat™ in conjunction with all building- and constructed-related collections and their conservation.

CSI is expanding MasterFormat to add new topics and give more coverage to existing ones. This is in response to the industry’s need for a common system of organizing and presenting construction information.


Constructions Specifications Institute

UNIFORMAT Lite is an index of Level 1 through Level 3 numbers and titles taken from the 1998 edition of UniFormat. It is only a highlight of the UniFormat 1998 Edition.

MasterFormat™ 2004 Edition: Numbers & Titles (Download PDF file)

Master Guide Specifications, Constructions Specifications Institute

CSI 16-Division Format, Constructions Specifications Institute

MasterFormat is a master list of numbers and titles for organizing information about construction requirements, products, and activities into a standard sequence. MasterFormat is a uniform system for organizing information in project manuals, for organizing cost data, for filing product information and other technical data, for identifying drawing objects and for presenting construction market data.
MasterFormat arranges related construction products and activities into 16 level-one titles, called divisions, which are further defined level two and three numbers and titles and suggested level four titles.

Proposed MasterFormatTM Scheme, skeleton outline of the proposed scheme

0 Procurement and Contracting Requirements
1 General Requirements
2 Existing Conditions (See Divisions 31 & 32 for existing Division 2 material)
3 Concrete
4 Masonry
5 Metals
6 Wood and Plastics
7 Thermal and Moisture Protection
8 Doors and Windows
9 Finishes
10 Specialties
11 Equipment (Other than building equipment relocated)
12 Furnishings
13 Special Construction (Other than building construction relocated)
14 Conveying Equipment (Transportation systems relocated)
21 Life Safety and Facility Protection (Material from Divisions 7, 13, & 15)
22 Plumbing (Material from Division 15)
23 HVAC (Material from Division 15)
24 Electrical (Material from Division 16)
25 Communications (Material from Divisions 13 & 16)
31 Exterior Construction (Material from Division 2)
32 Exterior Improvements (Material from Division 2)
33 Transportation (Includes material from Divisions 11 & 14)
34 Waterway and Marine Construction (Includes material from Division 5)
41 Fluid Treatment (Includes material from Divisions 11 & 13)
42 Power Generation (Includes material from Divisions 13 & 16)
43 Processes (New Division(s) for new material)

General Service Administration

Historic Preservation Technical Procedures, Historic Buildings Program, U.S. General Service Administration

Preservation Note 26: Salvage of Architectural Artifacts, Special Procedures-01350, 01-General Requirements, Historic Preservation Note Series (displays all notes, equal to 134 pages), Historic Preservation Technical Procedures, Historic Buildings Program, U.S. General Service Administration, June 1998. The following divisions are employed for the Historic Preservation Technical Procedures.

02 Sitework
03 Concrete
04 Masonry
05 Metals
06 Wood And Plastics
07 Thermal And Moisture Protection
08 Doors And Windows
09 Finishes
10 Specialties
15 Mechanical
16 Electrical

  © 2002-2012 Heritage Stewardship     contact